Uncategorized
Comments 2

Kickoff To A 30-Day Challenge

I actually came rather late to the party.  I joined The 30 Day Challenge on 30 Day Blog ChallengeDay 6, so in this blog post i will be “chunking” together the first 7 days worth of challenges.  Go me!  Each day we’re asked questions that really make dig deep and think and then we are challenged to write a blog post based on answering the question of the day.  I’m excited – hope you are too!

DAY 1 – WHY DID YOU START YOUR BLOG?  WHY DID YOU JOIN THIS CHALLENGE?

I started this blog mainly because i wanted to share my deep rooted belief that we all have an inner power to create a better life for ourselves if we just become consciously aware of ourselves and our actions, which is why I named it “Start Living Consciously”.

I want to reach out to those who feel as though they have no control and show them that in reality they truly do.  For me, it’s all about service to others and making some impact in changing the world.

I joined this challenge to help me become a more committed writer/blogger and to strengthen my skills.

DAY 2 – IF YOU WOKE TOMORROW & WERE FREE TO DO ANYTHING YOU WANTED WITH YOUR LIFE, WHAT WOULD YOU DO AND WHO WOULD YOU BE?

Ok, I’m going to dream big here.  I’m going to be completely honest about the life i WANT to lead the the person i WANT to become.  If I were free to do anything my life would look a little something like this:

I wake up early (because this the person I intend to be) and read my scriptures to get in tune and connected to my spirit and God.   I work out for 30 minutes to invigorate myself for the rest of the day.  I enjoy a healthy breakfast (because that is the person I intend to be) before starting my amazing day.

I have the freedom to grab my laptop, smartphone and keys and head out to anywhere i want to do to work on my task/goal of the day.  I decide lounging at my local cafe in downtown Inverness (because yeah, I summer in Scotland, thank you very much) is the ideal spot check email, post to my blog and check on how my “Happy Notes” business is going, which serves has a vehicle for people around the world to reach out and send “happy notes” and thoughts to others creating a world-wide connection of love and encouragement.

I want to be instrumental in creating a sharing nation and be part of a community of like-minded people who believe in that movement.

DAY 3 – WHAT IS YOUR DEFINITION OF FREEDOM IN BUSINESS & ADVENTURE IN LIFE?

Freedom in business & adventure in life, to me, means being free to be WHO you are and follow WHAT you believe in and building a business that focuses on serving others to create a better world.  In creating your own business path you can decide to focus on the WHY as Simon Sinek says in his book  “Start with Why”.  

Freedom in adventure is about going and doing what your heart leads you to do.  Whether it’s building houses in low income neighborhoods, or building wells in third world countries, or just learning a language by immersing yourself in a foreign country, the adventure is whatever YOU spell it out to be, WHENEVER you want it to be.  That is part of my life’s freedom vision.

DAY 4 – WHAT IS YOUR DEFINITION OF LOCATION INDEPENDENCE?

To me, it means doing what you love wherever you love.  As I mentioned in my “Day 2” post, my location independence would include spending summers in Scotland and being able to run my business from there, or any other location I choose.  It’s about being able to NOT have a tether to your ankle of where you must conduct business or life.  I comes down to location independence giving you back your choices.

DAY 5 – WHAT DOES YOUR PERFECT DAY LOOK LIKE?

Well, this is pretty much what i covered in my “Day 2” post.  But basically, my perfect day would be waking up to a day that what happens that day is completely of my choosing.  Spending fun time with my family whenever i want because I have the freedom to do so on a whim.  A perfect day would be knowing that what I wrote in my blog or whatever my business product is, helped someone’s life be a bit brighter and clearer.  My perfect day would be going to sleep at night knowing that I fulfilled my purpose that day and did waste the talents & skills God gave me.

DAY 6 – WHAT ARE MY 3 PRIORITIES FOR THE NEXT 30 DAYS THAT WILL MOVE ME CLOSER TOWARDS LIVING LIFE ON MY OWN TERMS?

Priority #1 is  completing my first month’s module of Trailblazer over at Paid To Exist.  Once I finish that and get a sense of accomplishment, I know I can continue on and be one month closer to my goal.

Priority #2 is setting up a time management routine that will help me be more laser focused on building my business.  Getting laser focus is a struggle for me because I tend to get distracted.

Priority #3 is cementing a morning habit that will help start my day off with energy, focus and clarity.  It takes 21 days to form a habit, so that’s my goal.

DAY 7 – WHICH KEY TOOLS WILL YOU TURN TO REGULARLY TO MAINTAIN YOUR MINDSET & HOW WILL YOU USE THEM EFFECTIVELY?

Well, my first tool are my scriptures.  They center me and make me feel more in tune with my spirit the spirit in which I want to face the world day to day.

My second tool is Twitter because mainly it is an opportunity to get out there into the entrepreneur community.  Right now, I am doing this completely alone.  My support system in back in Virginia (I am currently in New York), so having that community connection is very important to me.   And it has been a positive resource.  I did a blog post last week and two random strangers commented on it.  I was really excited.  It may not be huge to anyone, but to me it was a big deal.

My third tool is reading.  Currently I am reading about entrepreneurship from books like $100 Start Up and Escaping Cubicle Nation.  Reading books like these and reading about the people that have blazed the trail before me with real case studies, gives me a sense of possibility.

I have yet to get to a point where there is so much going on that I need productivity help or time management, however, I am seriously eying Goals On Track.

WHEW!!

THAT was challenging in itself!  Chunking 7 days worth of challenges into one blog.  But I did it and I’m proud of myself.  Looking forward the the rest of the challenge and your journey along with me.

2 Comments

  1. Welcome to the challenge and great job on answering all the responses in this one big hit list – you can refer back to this often. Here’s to summer in Scotland and more freedom. I hope my book is on your list too 😉

    • AWESOME! So glad the trackback worked. i’d never done that before – but it’s always great to learn something new. YES, your book is definitely on my wish list:D

Leave a Reply

